Introduction 

This is a quick guide to assist with moving a P11D Organiser installation – this may be from an old PC to a new one, or from one shared drive or server to another.




1 - Make a copy of the live P11D Organiser

Locate where the current installation is – you can find this by right clicking on your desktop shortcut and selecting <Properties> (see below). You can click the <Open File Location> button to go directly to the installation.


You will need to copy the whole folder (environment) that contains the P11D.exe. We need you to copy the entire directory for a couple of reasons, firstly to maintain user security information, but also to ensure the full history of activity is maintained.


Please note:

Do not place this in the Program Files or Program Files (x86) folder, even if the old application was there on the old machine. The way Windows has evolved means the application will have insufficient rights to functionif placed there.


2 - Paste the copied live environment to the new location

You then need to ‘paste’ this folder to the required new location. Remember to ensure that ALL users of the system have access to the new location – they will need to be able to navigate to the directory and have full access rights – whether by mapping the drive or UNC path. Also ensure the folder has full read/write permissions.


3 - Set up other workstations/users

Once the move is complete you will then need to re-connect any workstation clients to the new location (even if that client is the local PC). There are a couple of options:

  1. If the new location has the same name and UNC path - there is nothing else to do, the users should still be able to log in.
  2. If the P11D Organiser is installed on the C drive of a localPC, locate the installation, locate the INSTALL folder (see note below), and run workstation.exe. Please note that you will need Administrator rights to run the workstation.exe application. 
  3. If it is a network installation you could navigate to the new installation location from the user's PC, locate the INSTALL folder, and run workstation.exe. Please note that you will need Administrator rights to run the workstation.exe application. Please refer to the workstation setup guide here, and note that this may ask you to remove the old client first - in which case do that and then re-run the workstation.exe.
  4. If you are confident with editing shortcuts, you can edit the properties of the shortcut on the client machine to reflect the change. For example, given the above, if the location has moved from the one displayed ("\\hera\Apps\P11DDEMOGW\Test\p11d.exe") to a new server called "Zeus", you would edit the entries to "\\zeus\Apps\P11DDEMOGW\Test\p11d.exe" and "\\zeus\Apps\P11DDEMOGW\Test". Please note that you will need Admin rights to edit the shortcut

Please note: If you find there is no install folder, then please follow this article on how to download the Workstation installer: Downloading The Workstation Installer


4 - Unlocking the users

In the 2022 version of the software we have introduced a new enhanced security feature which will stop any user from accessing the system if the system has been tampered with. Moving the P11D installation will trigger this security lockout and the only way to unlock it is by contacting the P11D Organiser support team who will go through that process for you. Here is an example of the lockout message:


Clean Up

Although it makes sense to keep the old P11D Organiser installation in place until you are completely happy with the move, ensure you rename the ‘old’ folder to make it clear that it is no longer to be used. When complete, we recommend you destroy the old location's version to avoid any confusion.